Snickerdoodle Cake

So it seems I missed a month of posting, in my defence it was a crazy month and we were out of town for the majority of it! However, I’ll make it up to you with this post and a few more to come.

My husband had his birthday this month and to celebrate that I tried a cake recipe that I found on Pinterest in the flavour of his favourite cookie. The Snickerdoodle. For those of you who don’t know what this cookie tastes like, it’s sweet and cinnamony (it’s a word).

The original recipe is found at Foodie with Family

This recipe was both a hit and a miss. Overall everyone seemed to like it quite a bit, one comment was that it tasted like a cinnamon bun in cake form, which I would take as a good thing. But from a critical stand point I probably wouldn’t do this recipe again, not without changes at least. 

 

The icing was quite sweet (and I have a HUGE sweet tooth so this says alot). If you don’t like overly sweet things then you may want to tone down the recipe by using a cream cheese based icing with some cinnamon in it. The cake itself was moist when you’re eating it, but it crumbled like crazy when I was attempting to cut it for layers and placing it into cake form. For this reason alone I wouldn’t use the recipe again. However! If you want to give it a shot it does taste good, and my husband thought it tasted exactly like a cake version of the cookie would.

Leave a Reply

